Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 02-08-2013, 09:00 AM
djagusch djagusch is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 3,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exmark PR View Post
RED an Exmark exclusive technology.
Are you saying they have a patent on the tech? RPM and fuel mapping changes with a switch is used in many places (bikes, cars, etc).
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 02-08-2013, 09:04 AM
GMLC's Avatar
GMLC GMLC is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 4,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Martin View Post
I guess older Exmarks are different, but virtually every commercial mower that has or currently exists, already has this option. It's called a throttle control and I use mine quite often.

I think the manufacturer taking complete control over the throttle is a bad idea. Am I to understand that you must use their throttle settings for every circumstance? What if you just want the engine to idle at 1200 RPM before you shut the mower off?

The steady governor speed is nice though. I do have a question about it though. How are you supposed to know when you're cutting too fast or are about to choke the engine out due to too much load? With the old style of governor, you knew when the engine RPM dropped that you should maybe slow down a bit. With no engine drop you won't know when the deck is loading up until the belts squeal or the engine dies.
Good point Richard! I do use my throttle but am guilty of running WOT most of the time while mowing. Of corse my mowers dont have the wet clumping problem...
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02-08-2013, 09:13 AM
TLS's Avatar
TLS TLS is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: N&W Philadelphia Suburbs
Posts: 7,938
I wasn't aware that they removed the throttle lever. I'll have to watch it again. I just assumed it was still there and it was throttle by wire, and this switch over-rode the lever position.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 02-08-2013, 09:16 AM
Ridin' Green Ridin' Green is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,555
Quote:
Originally Posted by TLS View Post
I wasn't aware that they removed the throttle lever. I'll have to watch it again. I just assumed it was still there and it was throttle by wire, and this switch over-rode the lever position.
Posted via Mobile Device
That's kinda what I thought. I guess I missed the throttle being gone altogether. I thought you just ran the throttle all the way up, then chose which mode you wanted to maintain RPM's at/in.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl G
I can also tell by looking back to see how they're hanging and often reach back and feel them to see how firm they are.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 02-08-2013, 09:29 AM
TLS's Avatar
TLS TLS is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: N&W Philadelphia Suburbs
Posts: 7,938
Either way, not a deal breaker.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 02-08-2013, 10:05 AM
TriCityLawnCareLLC's Avatar
TriCityLawnCareLLC TriCityLawnCareLLC is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ridin' Green View Post
Thanks, that is very interesting.

There's always a big step forward in mower design the year after I drop a ton of money on a new mower.

TLS
-

Are you thinking of going to Exmark this year? I know you've had on and off issues with your SZ, and IIRC, last season you started talking about maybe getting something new.
I hear you loud an clear. We're in the same boat
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 02-08-2013, 10:07 AM
TriCityLawnCareLLC's Avatar
TriCityLawnCareLLC TriCityLawnCareLLC is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimslawncareservice View Post
I see the oil filter is on top facing down. I wonder if the oil will drain out when changing oil? Or not and make a mess?
Posted via Mobile Device
I have a late 2012 model x series with the same engine and oil filter setup. Yes, if you let it sit for a bit all the oil does drain out of the filter
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 02-08-2013, 10:42 AM
Richard Martin's Avatar
Richard Martin Richard Martin is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 14,509
Nevermind, changed my mind.
__________________
Serving Greenville, Winterville and Ayden NC



Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 02-08-2013, 10:45 AM
weaver weaver is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Martin View Post
Nevermind, changed my mind.
About what?
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 02-08-2013, 10:45 AM
Jimslawncareservice Jimslawncareservice is online now
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: mn
Posts: 3,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by TriCityLawnCareLLC View Post
I have a late 2012 model x series with the same engine and oil filter setup. Yes, if you let it sit for a bit all the oil does drain out of the filter
That's good to know. I hate making a mess when changing oil.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:14 PM.

Page generated in 0.08600 seconds with 7 queries