Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 02-14-2013, 01:18 AM
LawnSite Member

So I am a noob....

Alright guys I live in Indiana and I just passed my second of two pesticide exams. My final step is attending a two-day seminar at Purdue next month. After that I will be certified and a bit later, licensed.

A commercial account I have is about 15,000 sq ft. and I'm really excited that I have a nice account to start out with. I'll be hitting my own yard first to get it all down though, lol. So, I will be starting out using granular form with a spreader. Two questions:

1. Is it a bad idea to start a 5-step fert/herbicide application program with Scott's products? Or would it be a better idea to get another brand from my local Co-op at a better price?

2. Pricing. Now I know that the variables are endless here, but let me give an example. A 45 lb. of Turf Builder with post emergent herbicide costs around $50 and covers 15,000 sq. ft. So, it costs me $3 of product per 1000 square feet. If I charged .03 a square foot, is that too much? I would make $30 every 1000 square foot. Too expensive, about right, or too cheap?

Any help or wisdom is greatly appreciated! Thanks!
Old 02-14-2013, 12:32 PM
LawnSite Member

No takers? Lol
Old 02-14-2013, 08:15 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

First off i would call some one like Advanced turf or Agrium Advanced tech you will get better product and price and what are you going to use for weed control ?

$33.00 per th is way to high a 1/4 of that may still be to high but i am not in your area

You could most likly get a bag of fert with a pre for about $20.00

Charles Cue
Old 02-14-2013, 08:29 PM
LawnSite Member

For weed control, I was going to use the Scotts fert/herbicide combo bags...So $7 per thousand square feet? Is that what you meant by 1/4?
Old 02-14-2013, 08:52 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCMmmkay View Post