Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 02-14-2013, 09:17 AM
LawnSite Member

Just Starting Out

Hello Everyone,

I have some experience in lawn care and maintenance and am looking to start going out on my own. For now just a weekend job since I am in school Sept-Dec and Jan-April. So I figure if I can get 10-15 its a good weekend job and will help me get the experience needed to expand.

My question is how did some of you start off? Right now i have 2 Push Mowers, 2 Nice Echo String Trimmers, 2 Blowers, etc. I should have enough to be able to cut lawns as well as do spring/fall cleanups. I realize that with the equipment I have I will take a little longer than most companies to get the lawn done, but after a year I hope to be able to upgrade some equipment and get a larger mower.

So for now I will be just going out of my pickup truck, full size 6.5 bed. Did anyone else start out this way? And for spring/fall cleanups I will be using my fathers trailer to give me the extra room needed for transporting the leaves and everything.

Thanks ahead of time for any input.
Old 02-14-2013, 09:25 AM
LawnSite Platinum Member

I can tell you one thing when I started in 1978 I didn't have a trailer or a weed waker
So you starting better off already. Good luck on your 2013 season
Old 02-14-2013, 09:29 AM
LawnSite Member

Thanks, you too. I always get told the biggest company in my area started off with a pickup a mower and a rake. So it's possible. And it's a job I actually like doing (crazy right?) 18 and gotta make money
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 02-14-2013, 01:21 PM
LawnSite Senior Member