Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2013, 12:16 PM
aroddy aroddy is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texarkana, TX
Posts: 248
Gravely 152Z clutch problem

I had a gravely 152Z roll into the shop today with a kohler command CV730. when you engaged the PTO clutch, the clutch would cut in and out at all RPMs like it had a loose connection. We replaced the diode in the clutch harness since it tested bad. Now the the clutch won't cut in and out untill 3300 RPM. What gives?!?! any insight would be greatly appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2013, 12:17 PM
aroddy aroddy is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texarkana, TX
Posts: 248
BTW all grounds and connections in the harness were cleaned and put back together after we checked all the prongs and made sure they weren't backed out in the plugs bases...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2013, 03:01 PM
piston slapper's Avatar
piston slapper piston slapper is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa Fl
Posts: 4,008
I'm guessing something made the clutch diode fail...
Check the voltage at the clutch when it is kicking in and out...
If the voltage remains steady...the clutch has an internal problem..
If the voltage cycles with the clutch..it may be a bad Pto switch...
Just a guess...
__________________
If You Have All The Answers...Except The One You Need...You're Not Trying Hard Enough...
Do The Work
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2013, 03:38 PM
aroddy aroddy is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texarkana, TX
Posts: 248
We checked the PTO switch for continuity and it was good. I know that the diode in the harness is to eliminate voltage spike going back into the machine harness so it doesn't make other stuff fail. Its wild Tho.... still scratching the brain on this one.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2013, 04:01 PM
piston slapper's Avatar
piston slapper piston slapper is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa Fl
Posts: 4,008
You have to check the system for voltage while it is running to find an intermittent problem..
Continuity will not tell you if the wiring....switch....or clutch...are failing under load...

The diode is to prevent the clutch from spiking the electrical system when it is turned off..
__________________
If You Have All The Answers...Except The One You Need...You're Not Trying Hard Enough...
Do The Work
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2013, 04:06 PM
Landrus2's Avatar
Landrus2 Landrus2 is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Big apple
Posts: 4,690
When the clutch is in fail mode shut engine off and disconnect the clutch wires. Check for 12v across those 2 wires going to the clutch wires before the clutch connector
Another thing you can try is to not start the engine but have your key in the on position Engage your clutch switch You should hear a click If you do or if you don't move all the wires associated with the clutch. If there is a wire connection problem you will hear your clutch click on and off Then you can locate where exactly in the wiring the problem is
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-14-2013, 05:25 PM
piston slapper's Avatar
piston slapper piston slapper is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa Fl
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by piston slapper View Post
I'm guessing something made the clutch diode fail...
Check the voltage at the clutch when it is kicking in and out...
If the voltage remains steady...the clutch has an internal problem..
If the voltage cycles with the clutch..it may be a bad Pto switch...
Just a guess...
Hmmmm....thought this stuff was already posted....Hmmmm....

I guess you could try Mechanic in a Bottle...
__________________
If You Have All The Answers...Except The One You Need...You're Not Trying Hard Enough...
Do The Work
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-14-2013, 06:27 PM
Landrus2's Avatar
Landrus2 Landrus2 is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Big apple
Posts: 4,690
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-19-2013, 09:25 PM
aroddy aroddy is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texarkana, TX
Posts: 248
thanks for the replies- the mechanic in a bottle fixed it ha ha jk. There is two relays on the machine...we disconnected the relay that controlled the main harness and everything worked fine...so naturally we checked all the wiring for bare spots and such and found a bunch of butchered up wiring from the previous owner (Says the current owner) in the harness loom. Cleaned up and tied it all back together correctly and sent it back into the world
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:24 PM.

Page generated in 0.08284 seconds with 7 queries