Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 02-22-2013, 12:54 PM
LawnSite Member

Z920A - Ever heard of this happening before and some other amateur questions

Hi folks,

Just bought a 2010 Deere Z920A (54 inch deck). Monster’s only got 130 hours on it – ready for the grass to start growing and to fire her up! Anyhow funny story about the mower – dealer took her back from the first owner do to a blown head gasket. Strangest story though – seems mower was used by a church/cemetery - during the winter layup a mouse set up house keeping in the engine and when they fired it up in the spring mouse condo caused the engine to overheat and thus blow the head gasket. I trust the dealer and don’t doubt them – and I’m an amateur on the mowing thing – but has anyone ever heard of something like this happening before? I thought it was a pretty off the wall.

Additional question(s) – I’m going to be using the mower in Tennessee to mow the yard part of a little hobby farm I have – will be mowing about 3 acres – level ground with a house and a couple of other small obstacles. I’m currently mowing with an x300 (which is a great little garden tractor - keeping it!) and it’s taking me about 3 to 4 hours – how much quicker do you think I’ll be able to do it with the Z920? Lastly, I have to travel down there to mow so I mow on about 10 to 12 day intervals – folks who know Tennessee mowing – what blades should I run on the zero turn?

Thanks in advance for your responses - Mark
Old 02-22-2013, 04:43 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

My experience in going from a tractor style mower to a zero turn mower will cut your mowing time roughly in half. I would either use the standard JD blades or go with the Oregon G6 blades (preferred) if they make them for the Deere.
Old 02-22-2013, 05:39 PM
LawnSite Silver Member