Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 03-17-2013, 02:51 PM
LawnSite Member

Lehigh University - Product Development - Raking Innovation

Hello,
My name is Eric Sciorilli and I am currently a freshman attending Lehigh University. As a part of my Integrated Business and Engineering major, I am taking a product development class which focuses on both the establishment of product as well as the innovation from the conceptual and design phases all the way through to the marketing and business phases. As a step in our project, my team and I are currently conducting brief research to find out if there is a market that would be interested in our product and if so, who would that market be. Our product is currently called “The RakeShovel” and it is based on an idea that our group saw as an essential need for those who rake their own lawns.
Often times, the hardest part of the raking and cleaning process is getting the leaves up from the ground and into a bag or trash can. A rake helps get them into one pile but there is no easy way to lift and move the leaves. We believe this need can be helped with the concept of a simple shovel. Our current conceptual design includes a normal rake with a flat shovel on its underside that would not be in the way while raking. Upon completion, the user would pull a trigger causing the rake to pivot upward, away from the shovel. Thus, the user could shovel underneath the pile and release the trigger to allow the rake back down and hold the leaves in place to be moved.
If you believe that such a product would be useful to you, whether you see it helpful or not, we would appreciate if you would take the time to complete our survey and reply to this post. The link is at the bottom of this page and the survey will take no more than five minutes. All of your responses will help us clarify the problem of who, if anyone, is the market for our design. Thank you so much for your time in reading and hopefully in taking our survey.