Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 03-26-2013, 12:09 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

which machine to rent

I'm a landscaper and have decide to hold off for now on purchasing any skid steer or mini excavator...united rentals just moved to our area and have decent prices they r quoting g me to get my Business... they have quite a large selection of skids and.minis... I'm thinking about starting off with a taki 130 for the skid... doing grading and sod work... and what size mini would u recommend for my French drain installs? Something small but yet still.powerfully enough to dig up big stumps if needed.... clay soil here...they have a big selection of bobcat skids and minis few takeuchis to. Ill be loading my dump trailer with the skid and I wanna try tracks to help not rut the yard so when I grade it, will not be to bad...all hand controls be nice for a change to.. they have t190s as well. Far as.mini. ill.need.to dig a trench about 18" wide 24" deep
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 03-26-2013, 12:51 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

A 35 sized machine would be big enough to dig a French drain and still be easy to transport. I would leave the T190 in the lot.

Proudly running CASE and Takeuchi equipment.
Old 03-26-2013, 01:15 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Ive had a 35 bobcat before actually.... seemed to be decent but I hadn't had much time on a mini... ams for skids... I was considering buying a t190, takeuchi 130, or something like a cat 257,Deere ct322 .. i like the mustangs and gehls to...something along those lines...
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 03-26-2013, 08:19 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

I'd rent whatever kept the most money in my pocket and got the job done..
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 03-26-2013, 10:04 AM
LawnSite Senior Member