Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 03-26-2013, 04:09 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Massachussetts license test??

Anybody here have or had a Massachussetts pesticide license? Wondering how hard the test is, whether I should take the class, or just wing it. I'm licensed in CT, and our supervisory test is about as hard as it gets. I have many years of experience as an applicator, a pesticide dealer, and running fert businesses.
Old 03-26-2013, 06:58 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

With your background, no problem. Take the test
Old 03-26-2013, 07:12 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Go ahead and take the class. What's the worst that happens is you gain a little more knowledge. I have my Mass. License . Took the test about 7 years ago.
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 03-26-2013, 08:58 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

The test is difficult - if you do not study. I took it back in '01 and passed. Two years later I took the Certification test and passed, and in '05, I took the dealer license test and passed. I had to study for each one and each time I walked out of there thinking that I failed (I thought they were all hard). I guess I didn't give myself enough credit because I passed each time.

I think your background will certainly help you but it is not a guarantee that you'll pass. The test itself is 125 multiple choice questions and I believe you have to get 89 of them correct to pass. Most people think that with a multiple choice test, they'll be able to pass no problem. The problem is that 3 out of the 4 questions COULD BE correct. Your job is to find the one that is MOST CORRECT. These days, I have a training class that I put on at my John Deere Landscapes location every February. I've done it for the past 4 years and I've helped 15 - 20 people get licensed.