Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 03-26-2013, 05:43 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Drainage issue

This customer is having issues with growing grass in his backyard because of the drainage. As you can see, that back area is all dirt and he's saying the water is just laying there with nowhere to drain. Now, I've never done anything with drainage before so I'm not sure exactly how to go about this.

Do I just need to raise the soil up towards the back? If so, how would I do that with his shed being there? Do I need to install some sort of drainage pipe? I would say from the back of the house all the way to the area where there is no grass, the elevation drops about a foot. Would I just grade the entire yard??
Attached Images

Old 03-26-2013, 10:14 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Looks like a shade situation to me. Trees are doing fine--they would be flooded out in a situation of bad drainage. If water stands more than 24 hours--then yes you need more slope to drain it. Use a swale--a shallow valley that you can still mow over that directs the water to a lower level off the property. You may need to tie strings and use a good level. Or... you need French drains or drainage tubing.
Old 03-27-2013, 08:06 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

French drain.

F-150
14' landscape trailer
52'' Wright Stander
21'' Personal Pace
Stihl handhelds
Old 03-27-2013, 08:38 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

The soil around those trees doesn't soak into the ground??? That area is flat whereas the grassy area from the house slopes in that direction???

Those tree roots eventually use that water, once it soaks in and since the lawn is substandard I wouldn't have him waste time trying to grow grass down there but would intall mulched perennial beds that would imporve the soil's ability to perculate the water... flat stones for a raised walkway to and from the shed...