Register free!

Old 04-14-2013, 08:26 AM
LawnSite Member

Newbie looking for some help

Hello fellow landscapers,

I have been doing lawn and landscape maintenance for 4 years now. Things are going pretty good. I have gotten my name out there and now I am starting to get calls for landscape design and installs. I have a lot of experience with installing trees, ornamentals, shrubs, etc. I need to learn a lot more about design though. It is the direction I want to start going because I love landscaping and creating a beautiful outdoor living space for people. I have looked into Prolandscape software and have heard mixed reviews. Is there any other software you would suggest or books? I have a few basic landscaping books, but none that go into extensive detail. The software also would help with presentation to the clients. I would apprecite any help. Thanks and good luck this season.
Old 04-15-2013, 10:48 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

We use dynascape. Best design software by far in my opinion BUT it comes with a hefty price. Ive used prolandscape and didnt like the controls and overall finished product of it. May not be bad just starting off tho
Old 04-15-2013, 11:10 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

If you're just dipping a toe in design for the first time, why spend hundreds (or thousands) of dollars on software? It's not like it can help you learn design. You're probably getting asked for a foundation bed here, an island bed there. You can draw those smaller designs by hand, bang them out efficiently, and get a little better with each one. Then that way you'll have a better idea of how you would like a program to fit your design process, instead of hammering your design process to fit what the software does.
Old 04-16-2013, 01:44 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member