Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center



Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-04-2013, 01:19 PM
JoshuaMLewis JoshuaMLewis is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Reason for tank selector switch on ZTR???

Does anyone have any idea for the reason for the tank selector switch on ZTR mowers? Why not just link both together and go to the carb at the same time... like the old Dixie Choppers did?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-04-2013, 01:29 PM
C & T Landscaping's Avatar
C & T Landscaping C & T Landscaping is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chesterfield, Virginia
Posts: 405
More stuff to break so you can spend more money on repairs? :P
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-04-2013, 01:52 PM
Richard Martin's Avatar
Richard Martin Richard Martin is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 14,579
It's super easy to bypass the tank selector. A plastic T will do it.
__________________
Serving Greenville, Winterville and Ayden NC



Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2013, 07:56 PM
JDGlandscape's Avatar
JDGlandscape JDGlandscape is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 415
I personally like having the tank splitter, I actually switched my older mower to make it a switch
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2013, 08:22 PM
LandFakers's Avatar
LandFakers LandFakers is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 5,894
I like mine aswell. Not really an inconvience or a problem.
__________________
Rob

PlowSite-SnowFakers
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-04-2013, 08:39 PM
djagusch djagusch is online now
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 3,476
Most likely it helps operators not run out of gas.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-04-2013, 11:01 PM
K & K Mowing K & K Mowing is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 133
My ZD326 has same. But even worse one tank has a gage the other an idiot light. As stated helps keep from running out of fuel???

Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-06-2013, 11:32 AM
Tharrell's Avatar
Tharrell Tharrell is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mount Airy, NC aka Mayberry
Posts: 2,967
Obviously, you have not run COMPLETELY out of fuel yet.
No worries, live and learn.
__________________
Remembering all my departed friends.



NObama '08
NoMoreObama '12
Well, I hope everyone is happy now.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-06-2013, 12:07 PM
MOturkey's Avatar
MOturkey MOturkey is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bolivar, MO
Posts: 2,631
Same reason motorcycles used to have, and, I assume, still do, reserve tanks. Who wants to walk from the back of a 10 acre property to the truck, and carry a gas can back to the mower?
__________________
Neill Prater
Dependable Mowing Service
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-06-2013, 06:09 PM
fatboynormmie's Avatar
fatboynormmie fatboynormmie is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: balto md
Posts: 753
When twin tanks are just tee'd together without a shut off between them you run a risk of possibly running 1 tank empty and the gas line in the empty tank could start sucking air and will not allow the second full tank to feed fuel or what would be considered an airlock.Fuel line routing play's a big part in having or not having issues with airlock.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 PM.

Page generated in 0.07053 seconds with 9 queries