Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 04-23-2013, 12:07 AM
LawnSite Member

Need advice on a shrub job

Well hello everyone. ive been a long time lurker of about 7 years. i just started another lawn care business so i made a new name to start fresh. my question is:
When you do a shrub job, do you haul off the clippings or put them by the road for the city to get.

around here, we set things by the street all the time and within a week they are gone. we dont have to call anyone. they just roam around i guess. i have a large overgrown shrub job to do tomorrow. Probably 35' or shrubs about 6' tall. im bringing them back down to 3' and i have to take away enough material to have a 1' gap between the house and the bushes. so im estimating alot of take away. Im kinda new to shrubs because i have only been asked to do minor trimming and shaping. also, with the limited info provided, what would a rough estimate be on something of this caliber? i gave a quote, but it was kind of on the fly. just curious if i way underbid, or if i way overbid. im almost certain i did one of the 2. thanks in advance.
Old 04-23-2013, 12:15 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Can't really say what the price should be without actually seeing it. Most big bush trimming jobs I've done have taken 2 to 3 hours, and I just price that by my hourly rate.
Old 04-23-2013, 12:20 AM
LawnSite Member

thanks for the post. I quoted him $150. i didnt know exactly how long i was gonna be there but i imagined probably 4 hours atleast. thats based solely off of me trying to invision myself doing the job in 5' sections. i have nothing else to really base it on but he was anxious to get someone out because he is leaving town for a while and just needs it done. i was nervous that i would learn i underbid myself but hearing you say big shrub jobs take a few hours has me thinking im in the ballpark atleast. thanks again.
Old 04-23-2013, 12:27 AM
LawnSite Senior Member