Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 02-18-2003, 12:51 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

need welding help, search did not help me

Hello, everyone. This is my first time on this forum as I am usually on commercial lawn care. I am attempting a repair and am in need of advice. My little nephews 4 wheeler has a crack on one side of the motor housing or casing. Im not sure what the metal type is called but its pretty much used standard on any motor blocks I think. Its not a huge crack, probably closer to a hairline crack, but a tad bigger. Needless to say it will not hold oil right now. I have it off the floor and the oil drained so that the crack can be cleaned of oil before attempting a repair. How do I go about this. I do not weld, but have 2 friends that are fairly decent at it. But they say that I have to have a special type of welding machine to do it. Other mechanics have suggested sanding the area to rough it up and use some 2 ton epoxy. Still other mechanics have said the dreaded JB WELD stuff. HELP I really appreciate any advice you all can give me. Thanks.
Old 02-18-2003, 10:29 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Probably aluminum, if not its cast. Epoxy most likely wont hold long on an atv, too much stress. Take it to a good welding shop, better yet, order a new one from your dealer. It ain't worth the aggravation.
Old 02-18-2003, 12:35 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Well that poses a problem. The ATV is an IPC. They went out of business last year. So there are no Deakler parts available. That forces me to try and repair this one.
Old 02-18-2003, 05:51 PM
LawnSite Member

Sounds like a candidate for TIG welding. In a nutshell, TIG uses an arc flooded by an inert gas without a wire feed. Metal is added as in gas welding or the base metals can be fused without a filler rod. Yes, a special setup. If you find a welding repair shop they should have a TIG machine.
Old 02-18-2003, 06:30 PM
LawnSite Senior Member