Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2013, 07:04 PM
Bashby Bashby is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charles Town WV
Posts: 344
Setting rpm's on Kohler CH25

I didnt think my Scag TT with a Kohler CH25 was running at a high enough rpm, so I ordered a tach and hooked it up. 3250 rpm at no load. From what I read it should be more like 3500-3600. Can someone walk me through how to adjust it?
ser# 27317...
spec 68579
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2013, 07:20 PM
Restrorob's Avatar
Restrorob Restrorob is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Show'n my truck off !
Posts: 10,251
Here goes......


__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by piston slapper View Post
You never learn anything until you admit you don't know it all...

"Why go out preserved when you can go out beat up, worn out, sliding in sideways screaming, Holy Sh!t What A Ride" !!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-13-2013, 07:23 PM
Bashby Bashby is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charles Town WV
Posts: 344
Thank you VERY much! Do I shoot for 3550 with no load?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-13-2013, 07:46 PM
Restrorob's Avatar
Restrorob Restrorob is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Show'n my truck off !
Posts: 10,251
You can do 3750 without issues.....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by piston slapper View Post
You never learn anything until you admit you don't know it all...

"Why go out preserved when you can go out beat up, worn out, sliding in sideways screaming, Holy Sh!t What A Ride" !!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-14-2013, 06:58 PM
Bashby Bashby is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charles Town WV
Posts: 344
I bottomed the screw out... 3300 rpm. If I back it way out I get the max rpm's to drop but cant get it to rev past 3300 or so. I made sure the cable is pulling it all the way. I can manually move the lever under the adjuster screw and it will rev higher. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-14-2013, 08:20 PM
Restrorob's Avatar
Restrorob Restrorob is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Show'n my truck off !
Posts: 10,251
Sounds like you need to pull more cable housing through the hold down clamp, Or move the end of the cable to another hole on the lever closer to the center pivot screw......
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by piston slapper View Post
You never learn anything until you admit you don't know it all...

"Why go out preserved when you can go out beat up, worn out, sliding in sideways screaming, Holy Sh!t What A Ride" !!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-15-2013, 08:35 AM
Bashby Bashby is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charles Town WV
Posts: 344
I loosened the cable hold down and pulled to max throttle to be sure that the cable wasnt limiting travel. I tried moving the cable one hole closer to the fulcrum, no change. Any ideas?">

">
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-15-2013, 09:00 AM
piston slapper's Avatar
piston slapper piston slapper is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa Fl
Posts: 4,002
Move the governor spring out to the outer hole..
You went the wrong way with the throttle stop screw...
loosen it most of the way ..try it there..
Loosen the cable clamp...move throttle lever to fast..pull the cable housing all the way and tighten the clamp..
__________________
If You Have All The Answers...Except The One You Need...You're Not Trying Hard Enough...
Do The Work
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-15-2013, 09:59 AM
Bashby Bashby is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charles Town WV
Posts: 344
Looseniing the screw brings rpms down. I found that if I partially close the choke it let the throttle open further. I bent the z rod, now the choke lever does not act as a throttle stop and the adjustment screw will raise rpms. Got her set at 3600... I'm calling it good for now.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-15-2013, 11:30 AM
piston slapper's Avatar
piston slapper piston slapper is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tampa Fl
Posts: 4,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bashby View Post
Looseniing the screw brings rpms down. I found that if I partially close the choke it let the throttle open further. I bent the z rod, now the choke lever does not act as a throttle stop and the adjustment screw will raise rpms. Got her set at 3600... I'm calling it good for now.
Sorry bout that....glad you got it figured out...
Its a lot easier to work on engines...than to explain how to work on them...
__________________
If You Have All The Answers...Except The One You Need...You're Not Trying Hard Enough...
Do The Work
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:27 AM.

Page generated in 0.07257 seconds with 9 queries