Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51  
Old 05-28-2013, 11:42 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 39,613
The math was supplied beforehand. ~ 30-ohm solenoid. ~ 24 volts AC applied. ~ 0.2 amps measured current.

My diagram connects the dots, and shows that it is the inductive reactance of the solenoid that is chiefly responsible for a solenoid's impedance.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 05-28-2013, 08:15 PM
Kiril Kiril is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: District 9 CA
Posts: 18,322
..................

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiril View Post
No explanation, and no math.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 05-28-2013, 09:22 PM
Mike Leary's Avatar
Mike Leary Mike Leary is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Port Angeles, Washington
Posts: 20,569
Can we all go back to work now?
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 05-28-2013, 11:40 PM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 39,613
I dunno, I'm all eager to learn why I should give a rip about magnetic forces.

What I provided shows why you can measure a DC resistance that is well below what you expect, but still the zone operates without incident.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 06-05-2013, 01:00 PM
gdeangel gdeangel is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 34
I have been reading along quietly, since I thought the panel reset had fixed the problem, but yesterday I went out and zone 2 (which is the one that had been "stuck" open in the fall) was running at the same time as zone 3.

I decided to retest the transformer from the other advice I got earlier... (it was 29V red to red, and 12 v red to green last time) ... and anyway, it fried the fuse in my meter. So that put the kabash on trying to test anything else.

But I was curious, because when I read all this stuff about solenoids and resistance changing under load, it seems that one thing I had always thought, that if the magnet can't pop open, then the things will get hot, just might be right. Because when it hasn't popped open, then resistance might stay lower, and too much current flows. I don't know... just tossing it out there. I actually did take a class once on electronics - just passed by skin of my teeth... ah, this discussion brings back memories.

So I'm going to put in an SMT... which brings up another question: what's the difference between the SMT and the SMTe? Am I going to be revisiting these firmware bugs with either one of them?
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 06-05-2013, 06:10 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdeangel View Post
I have been reading along quietly, since I thought the panel reset had fixed the problem, but yesterday I went out and zone 2 (which is the one that had been "stuck" open in the fall) was running at the same time as zone 3.

I decided to retest the transformer from the other advice I got earlier... (it was 29V red to red, and 12 v red to green last time) ... and anyway, it fried the fuse in my meter. So that put the kabash on trying to test anything else.

But I was curious, because when I read all this stuff about solenoids and resistance changing under load, it seems that one thing I had always thought, that if the magnet can't pop open, then the things will get hot, just might be right. Because when it hasn't popped open, then resistance might stay lower, and too much current flows. I don't know... just tossing it out there. I actually did take a class once on electronics - just passed by skin of my teeth... ah, this discussion brings back memories.

So I'm going to put in an SMT... which brings up another question: what's the difference between the SMT and the SMTe? Am I going to be revisiting these firmware bugs with either one of them?
only 1 leg will show a measurement to ground. that is the potential difference and should be around 1.2vac @ 120 vac line pwr.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 06-06-2013, 09:40 AM
Kiril Kiril is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: District 9 CA
Posts: 18,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdeangel View Post
So I'm going to put in an SMT... which brings up another question: what's the difference between the SMT and the SMTe? Am I going to be revisiting these firmware bugs with either one of them?
Model 1 vs Model 2, and what firmware bugs?
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 06-06-2013, 03:43 PM
gdeangel gdeangel is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1idejim View Post
only 1 leg will show a measurement to ground. that is the potential difference and should be around 1.2vac @ 120 vac line pwr.
Posted via Mobile Device

Well that's interesting because I took the transformer with me, and tested it at home. I have 1.2 VAC on one leg vs. the green ground wire like you said but from the other leg to the ground wire it is definitely still reading more like 20VAC, and between the two orange wires, it is 29VAC. Don't know what that means, but the back panel says "24V", so I'd expect 24V between the two orange wires...no?
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 06-06-2013, 10:20 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdeangel View Post
Well that's interesting because I took the transformer with me, and tested it at home. I have 1.2 VAC on one leg vs. the green ground wire like you said but from the other leg to the ground wire it is definitely still reading more like 20VAC, and between the two orange wires, it is 29VAC. Don't know what that means, but the back panel says "24V", so I'd expect 24V between the two orange wires...no?
line power and transformer coils determine the low voltage output.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 06-07-2013, 06:27 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 39,613
the 24 VAC transformer will always show 29 - 30 volts when you measure it, because it isn't running under the full load the transformer is rated for - load it down, and the voltage drops (and the solenoids aren't a full load, so actually seeing just 24 volts is unlikely to happen)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:42 AM.

Page generated in 0.06921 seconds with 8 queries