Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2013, 02:58 PM
mx315's Avatar
mx315 mx315 is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: PC Beach, FL
Posts: 394
Iron Bacteria problem in well

Just took a property over and running through the irrigation system to fix problems. Manager tells me they have always had a problem with iron in the water and clogged heads. The outlet side had 9 two inch 90's in a five foot section right off the pump. Cut it all apart to replace all the 90's and found this.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2013, 03:45 PM
AI Inc's Avatar
AI Inc AI Inc is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 21,528
I see the iron but where is the bacteria? Maybe different there but around here iron bacteria looks like snot.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2013, 03:57 PM
Mike Leary's Avatar
Mike Leary Mike Leary is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnemucca, Nevada
Posts: 20,548
Have never seen anything that drastic. I'd say it's low flow, bad piping (too many 90s) and overzoned. Most heads and valves will pass that crap if the pressure is up. What is your operating pressure?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2013, 08:11 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by mx315 View Post
The outlet side had 9 two inch 90's in a five foot section right off the pump. Cut it all apart to replace all the 90's and found this.
I guess they forgot the 5 diameter rule?
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-27-2013, 07:58 AM
mx315's Avatar
mx315 mx315 is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: PC Beach, FL
Posts: 394
My pressure is running at 70 psi now that we cleaned the well screens. I've had plenty of iron, but never had a system with iron bacteria. I thought it was strange that there were no stains on anything or smell, so I had it tested and they told me it was bacteria. I just started working on this system 2 months ago and the manager told me they have always had problems with the irrigation. I started digging around the pump area and they have 4 well casing pipes in a 10' radius. I guess they couldn't figure out what it was so they kept putting in new wells in the same spot.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-27-2013, 08:05 AM
AI Inc's Avatar
AI Inc AI Inc is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 21,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by mx315 View Post
My pressure is running at 70 psi now that we cleaned the well screens. I've had plenty of iron, but never had a system with iron bacteria. I thought it was strange that there were no stains on anything or smell, so I had it tested and they told me it was bacteria. I just started working on this system 2 months ago and the manager told me they have always had problems with the irrigation. I started digging around the pump area and they have 4 well casing pipes in a 10' radius. I guess they couldn't figure out what it was so they kept putting in new wells in the same spot.
Ive seen a few points tied together. Usually done when one dosnt produce enough.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-27-2013, 11:23 AM
mx315's Avatar
mx315 mx315 is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: PC Beach, FL
Posts: 394
There are two 2" wells tied together now. That's what is pulling up this mess. I found a 3" and 4" within a couple of feet of these other wells. They abandoned those because of the same problem, but still drilled new wells in the same spot.... kind of dumb I thought.
After researching the iron bacteria problem, it looks like there is nothing that can be done to remove the buildup inside the mainline pipe, without killing all the grass and plants.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-27-2013, 04:29 PM
AI Inc's Avatar
AI Inc AI Inc is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 21,528
Why is a filter out of the question?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-27-2013, 05:54 PM
mx315's Avatar
mx315 mx315 is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: PC Beach, FL
Posts: 394
Installed a Vu-Flow right after the pump a few weeks ago, but everything that's built up in the lines already is the problem. Some of the larger zones are weak and the new pump is doing all it can. The restriction in the main line is the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-27-2013, 09:07 PM
CAPT Stream Rotar's Avatar
CAPT Stream Rotar CAPT Stream Rotar is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cape Cod, Ma
Posts: 5,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1idejim View Post
I guess they forgot the 5 diameter rule?
Posted via Mobile Device
Hey brother!

care to talk about this rule or any other rules more when doing pvc.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:20 PM.

Page generated in 0.08164 seconds with 8 queries