Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather
View Poll Results: Whats the minimum average charge in your area.
10 1 1.47%
20 8 11.76%
25 16 23.53%
30 16 23.53%
35 19 27.94%
40 8 11.76%
Voters: 68. You may not vote on this poll

Old 06-28-2013, 10:30 AM
LawnSite Member

12 year old LOW BALLING

I just got home, and was checking the mail box for mail. It was early in the day and the mail lady hadn't made it down our street yet. But what I did find was a flyer. XYZ Mowing Service. The letter reads as follows.

I am a 12 year old kid trying to earn extra money. I have been mowing yards for the past four years.

I am offering a package deal to mow and trim an average yard for $10 Any size bigger or smaller we can discuss price.

number

thank you.

Now in my area $30 is just about what it takes to off load the trailer. I'm tempted to take him up on it.
Old 06-28-2013, 10:39 AM
LawnSite Member

Industrious kid.....a bit naive though.....I am sure he will learn quickly that $10 a crack is way too cheap and he will slack off and get canned.......Of course at $10, you wouldnt mind a crappy job
Old 06-28-2013, 11:29 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by wagil View Post
I just got home, and was checking the mail box for mail. It was early in the day and the mail lady hadn't made it down our street yet. But what I did find was a flyer. XYZ Mowing Service. The letter reads as follows.

I am a 12 year old kid trying to earn extra money. I have been mowing yards for the past four years.

I am offering a package deal to mow and trim an average yard for $10 Any size bigger or smaller we can discuss price.

number

thank you.

Now in my area $30 is just about what it takes to off load the trailer. I'm tempted to take him up on it.