LawnSite Member

Toro Commercial 2000 vs John Deere 915B

I will be buying one of the two mowers which one should I go with
John Deere 54 inch- $6995
Toro 52 inch- $6349
Attached Images

Old 08-07-2013, 09:21 AM
LawnSite Member

JD is always the best value. More mower for your money. Frequently the choice of purchasing agents.

Toro is more for the "price is not a factor" crowd. High end golf courses etc.

It's hard to believe a similarly equipped Toro prices under a JD. Does it have the same motor, pumps, etc.?
It doesn't sound like Toro's COMMERCIAL grade mower but one of their lesser lines.

As a solo operator I went to Toro 20 years ago. Yeah, they're expensive to fix. This month my maintenance was $7,400. New tires, wheel bearings, gearbox and a belt. But it's got close to 4,000 hours. The motor & transmission is good. And it's cheaper than a new one.
Toro's are sweet to run. Tougher than you'd expect. If I accidentally run over a brick I'm thinking, "OH! I'll have to sharpen a blade." Not "I'm going to have to replace a spindle."
Old 08-07-2013, 10:05 AM
LawnSite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toro 455 View Post
JD is always the best value. More mower for your money. Frequently the choice of purchasing agents.

Toro is more for the "price is not a factor" crowd. High end golf courses etc.

It's hard to believe a similarly equipped Toro prices under a JD. Does it have the same motor, pumps, etc.?
It doesn't sound like Toro's COMMERCIAL grade mower but one of their lesser lines.

As a solo operator I went to Toro 20 years ago. Yeah, they're expensive to fix. This month my maintenance was $7,400. New tires, wheel bearings, gearbox and a belt. But it's got close to 4,000 hours. The motor & transmission is good. And it's cheaper than a new one.
Toro's are sweet to run. Tougher than you'd expect. If I accidentally run over a brick I'm thinking, "OH! I'll have to sharpen a blade." Not "I'm going to have to replace a spindle."