Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 08-14-2013, 09:37 PM
LawnSite Member

Considering running double blades on a 15HP 48in Exmark TT

The title says most of it. I bag all but one of my yards and while I wish I could buy a Lazer with an Ultra Vac, I'm a college student and I couldn't fit one of those in my parents garage with their cars. I bought an Accelerator bagger and I am happy with it compared to the original Exmark one.

My issues are this, during the spring and fall the bagger fills up extremely quickly, it does not pack very well with the long grass (once it fills up, I can remove it from the mower and shake the grass down inside to half the original size). I feel (maybe hope is a more accurate term) that if I mounted dual blades I would be able to chop up the grass finer, and discharge it with more force so that it would pack in the bagger better. It is not uncommon for me to empty once per 50ft long stripe on some yards in the spring. That easily equates to 15 times I empty the bagger per hour (its only that low because I have to account for the trimming time), I feel confident saying that in those cases I spend more time emptying the bagger than I do actually cutting the grass. I worry that this is putting a lot of stress and wear on the clutch.

Furthermore because I am missing the vacuum action of a ultra vac or trac vac, I have issues sucking the leaves under the deck (it seems leaves seem to get sucked under from the left side and the rear, however in the front about half get blown away). This causes serious issues in the fall when I'm trying to leave a clean final cut after leaf clean ups.