Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 08-18-2013, 09:21 PM
LawnSite Member

Turf Tiger possibility

So I need some other views on my situation. Right now I've got my Gravely Pro turn 152 on it. I was at my local scag dealership today and saw they have a 61" turf tiger with like 800 hours on it. My gravely doesn't have near that. But I think I could make a pretty close to even swap on the price of the mowers. I don't do near as many accounts as you guys on here, but I have to get the ones I have done quick since I am still a student and time is limited. What I want to know is should I try to make this swap? I don't think the hours are a real issue since I won't be putting just a ton of hours on it every year. Another thing is the striping. I know the turf tigers put down incredible stripes. The back wheels are almost even with the sides of the deck and on the gravely they're pushed way in and make the stripes look just a little funny. What do you guys think I should do?
Old 08-18-2013, 09:38 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Turf Tiger possibility

Turf tiger is a great mower. The 29hp kaw dfi liquid cooled engine lasts 3000+ hours. Very reliable mower

Doesn't matter what kind of equipment you run as long as you get the job done correctly and up to par.
Old 08-18-2013, 10:00 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Is the Scag dealer also a Gravely dealer? If not there is an 80% or higher chance that they will just turn you down. Gravely's are decent mowers but they aren't a TT. Im sure they would make you put $1500 to $2000 on top of you mower to make the trade. Also the TT is one of the heaviest mowers out there and with all of this rain we've had (at least in the mid-atlantic) that TT would just rut the crap out of any and every lawn it was put on.