Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 03-02-2003, 09:23 AM
LawnSite Member

sub out fert. and pest. applications

I did the search, but I was looking for a few more opinions on the topic.
I'm a solo operator and maintain 40 or so residential and several commercial properties. Only mowing, mulching, pruning, clean ups, and the usual landscaping basic planting. I don't have the equipment or the time to do the applications, but if I were to sub out the work, I think I could get most of my accounts to use the company I recommend.

I'm unsure how this deal would work. Would I collect the application payments from the homeowner or collect a percent (20% ?) from the applicator? Or would I be better off settling for a referral fee from the applicator.

I don't really want to be in the fert. and pest. side of the business, Just looking to offer more service and increase profit margins. I don't do any kind of applications now, but I don't have a problem getting a license just to sell the work or collect payments. But if I do, I'll have to raise my insurance from a 200,000 policy to 1, 000, 000 (higher premium).

Any suggestions? Thanks.
Old 03-02-2003, 10:26 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

check your PM
Old 03-02-2003, 10:36 AM
LawnSite Senior Member