Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 08-23-2013, 09:13 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

looking for input on this truck

been looking for a truck for awhile, came upon this and looking for input as to pros and cons, going to see it tomorrow. I will be hauling dirt and gravel and towing a 20ton tag to tow my jd 160 excavator.
thanks
http://www.truckpaper.com/listingsde...x?OHID=4568545
Old 08-23-2013, 11:44 PM
LawnSite Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by NEUSWEDE View Post
been looking for a truck for awhile, came upon this and looking for input as to pros and cons, going to see it tomorrow. I will be hauling dirt and gravel and towing a 20ton tag to tow my jd 160 excavator.
thanks
http://www.truckpaper.com/listingsde...x?OHID=4568545

A C7 Cat engine would not be what I would want in that truck and at 335 horse it would be maxed.
Old 08-24-2013, 12:10 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

I have had no experience with the c-7 but have heard many rumors that it is a 200k engine at best. Does seem to be a little light on the hp as well.

Also is that the original bed on that truck? Something looks a little off on it like possibly it is a converted road tractor.
Old 08-24-2013, 08:36 AM
LawnSite Member

Air ride suspension is not so great for a dump truck, like someone else said probably a converted road tractor. Walking beam suspension is good for a dump or dirt truck. The 8ll that it has is a perfect trans for a dump.
Old 08-24-2013, 09:42 AM
LawnSite Platinum Member

The C7 is a med duty engine. It's service life is rated for a med duty application so if used in a heavy duty application it will have a shortened life span.
Old 08-24-2013, 12:41 PM
LawnSite Fanatic