Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center



Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2013, 12:17 PM
RyanA97 RyanA97 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 183
PTO wont engage unless switch is pulled past on position(as far up as it will go)

The PTO on my gravely 1336 Pro g walk behind wont engage the blades unless the switch is pulled up as far as it will go meaning I would have to manually hold it up for the blades to stay on. Wiring issue or what?
Thanks.
__________________
Lawn Brothers Lawn Care
Northern Virginia
2005 Nissan Titan
Primary- 36 inch Gravely Pro 1336
Backup -2000 32 Toro Proline
John Deere 21
Stihl Kombi 110
Echo PB-770T
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2013, 12:26 PM
JB1's Avatar
JB1 JB1 is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: From the hills of beautiful Southern Indiana
Posts: 5,854
I'd try a new switch.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2013, 12:27 PM
RyanA97 RyanA97 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 183
I bought a new switch and it still does the same thing.
__________________
Lawn Brothers Lawn Care
Northern Virginia
2005 Nissan Titan
Primary- 36 inch Gravely Pro 1336
Backup -2000 32 Toro Proline
John Deere 21
Stihl Kombi 110
Echo PB-770T
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2013, 01:27 PM
Sprinkler Buddy's Avatar
Sprinkler Buddy Sprinkler Buddy is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanA97 View Post
I bought a new switch and it still does the same thing.
Sounds like the plug that the PTO switch plugs in to isn't staying in place when engaging. Your getting the contacts separated just enough while holding it manually is my guess.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-13-2013, 02:57 PM
BigFish's Avatar
BigFish BigFish is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: chesapeake, va
Posts: 1,657
As S.B. said, prolly in the plug/connector. Try tweeking the individual terminals in the plug with a small screwdriver to ensure contact with the switch terminals.
Ya could also tweek the switch terminals a bit with small pliers. I would try the connector first though.
__________________
" But let me tell you something ,folks: You can't fix stupid! There's not a pill you can take, there's not a class you can go to. Stupid is forever!"

......AMF!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-13-2013, 03:14 PM
kgs1 kgs1 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: hulbert,mi
Posts: 144
If you got a new switch then its like Sprinkler Buddy & Big Fish said it may be in the connector that the switch plugs into..check all connections in the connector for loose connections or dusty/dirty contact points...clean out with electrical cleaner...when you cleaned it up, you also want to check each wire where it goes into the connector, and make sure they are not flattened at all..this would cause a loose connection & if any doughts...take each wire out (one at atime) out of the backside of connector & make sure the tab end of the wire that goes into the connector aren't smooshed or flattened..if any of them are, use a very small screwdriver to lift the tab up then when you plug into the switch you should have a good connection and at least eliminate the connection issue....also one thing to consider as well is: there is a diode no dought somewhere in the wire harness,,usually down by the clutch,,probably a short pigtail harness with a diode in it..it keeps the flow of electricity from backing up the wire and if it goes bad it will definetly cause issues...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-13-2013, 05:02 PM
RyanA97 RyanA97 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 183
Thanks all. Ill give it all a try.
__________________
Lawn Brothers Lawn Care
Northern Virginia
2005 Nissan Titan
Primary- 36 inch Gravely Pro 1336
Backup -2000 32 Toro Proline
John Deere 21
Stihl Kombi 110
Echo PB-770T
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-13-2013, 11:32 PM
RyanA97 RyanA97 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 183
Disconnected the wires from the connector and cleaned/inspected them. Put back in and everything is working normal again. Thanks everyone!
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-16-2013, 08:49 PM
Sprinkler Buddy's Avatar
Sprinkler Buddy Sprinkler Buddy is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanA97 View Post
Disconnected the wires from the connector and cleaned/inspected them. Put back in and everything is working normal again. Thanks everyone!
Posted via Mobile Device
Love those cheap and easy fixes. :-)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:55 PM.

Page generated in 0.06985 seconds with 9 queries