Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 09-15-2013, 04:58 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Running Business While Working Full Time Elsewhere

A little background: I currently work 40/hours each week doing maintenance for the local school district. I get insurance, benefits etc. The pay isn't great, but the benefits are something my wife refuses to go without. As a result she cringes every time I suggest something about doing lawn care full time. I must keep her happy so that's just how it is.

This is my first year in the business. I have 20 weekly clients, and have pretty good profit margins. Probably 45/hour after expenses. I have been working 15 hours/week doing my lawn care which is busy, but is fine. Looking forward I can see this business continuing to grow to the point there is no way I can do it myself while working elsewhere 40 hours/week. I don't want to turn down the clients, and I want the extra income.

Here is where I want your input. Do any of you work a full time job and hire another person or two to take care of your lawns for you? What are the pros and cons? Should I stay in the field and do as much as I can myself? I certainly want my employee to do a good job and know what he's doing. I imagine I could work with him/them once/week or so. Let me know your thoughts on the whole situation, what has worked for you etc.

Thanks a lot!
Old 09-15-2013, 05:33 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

employee's

I would weight the pro's and con's of your full time employment (growth in the company going forward, potential for them to increase your pay, job security?)
Are all of these things important to you, I would say "yes" .. Just sit down with your wife and get her input on these things. If you think that your full time job will be good to you and possibly bump up your pay or give you movement inside the company then I wouldn't quit for anything less than a $60,000/yr NET PROFIT from your lawn care service.