Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 09-16-2013, 10:55 AM
LawnSite Member

Electrician to landscaper

Hey guys my names Brian I'm from ct and am a licensed electrician. I've been in this trade for a while and am looking to get away from it and want to start my own landscaping business. What tips do you guys have for me ? obliviously I plan on starting small doing it on weekends and after work until it grows big enough to make a living. How did you guys start out ? What equipment should I get for just starting out mowers I mean do I invest in a zero turn riding mower or do I wait and see how the business grows? Any input would be great thanks
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 09-16-2013, 11:43 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Knowing first hand as an electrician myself I suspect that as a licensed EC in CT you would make more in a couple of hours than you would make all day as an LCO. What gives? Burnt, getting up in age? Grass is greener?
Old 09-16-2013, 11:58 AM
LawnSite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by CL&T View Post
Knowing first hand as an electrician myself I suspect that as a licensed EC in CT you would make more in a couple of hours than you would make all day as an LCO. What gives? Burnt, getting up in age? Grass is greener?
I've always wanted to own my own business and while I dont enjoy electrical work i do make good money and have good bennys. so i plan on keeping my electrical job and owning the landscaping company doing the lawns on weekends/ after work with a partner (family member) so I can own my own business and have two incomes and hopefully some day I can get big enough to hire some people to work while I keep my electrical job
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 09-16-2013, 01:41 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Why not just do electrical work on the side? You won't have much to learn, and you already hold all necessary licenses I'm guessing.