Register free!

Old 09-27-2013, 11:52 PM
LawnSite Member

Rain Bird Academy Boot Camp, Good/bad?

Hey guys, I currently only cut grass but would like to get into installing/servicing sprinklers. I know the best way to learn would be to work for someone for a few years but that is not an option for me. I am a school teacher who has my business on the side but would love to go full time someday doing sprinklers along with the mowing.

My question is, have any of you or your employees gone to these training classes? Are they worth taking a week off of work and spending money on a hotel and possibly airline tickets?
Old 09-28-2013, 09:47 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

Better than nothing I guess .........
Old 09-28-2013, 10:08 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by fsujammer View Post
Hey guys, I currently only cut grass but would like to get into installing/servicing sprinklers. I know the best way to learn would be to work for someone for a few years but that is not an option for me. I am a school teacher who has my business on the side but would love to go full time someday doing sprinklers along with the mowing.

My question is, have any of you or your employees gone to these training classes? Are they worth taking a week off of work and spending money on a hotel and possibly airline tickets?
Wow, this sounds strange coming from a professional educator.
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 09-28-2013, 10:19 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Your not going to learn in a week what you need to know. Don't waste your money. Continue to build your lawn service and leave the irrigation to the pros. Its impossible for a small company to do both effectively, you just don't have the time.

Same can be said for the lone irrigation pro that has the idea he'll start adding lawn maintenance to his services. Then he runs into an irrigation job that will take a week +. Skip the lawn care that week? For some quick $$$. lol

Last edited by Sprinkler Buddy; 09-28-2013 at 10:24 AM.