Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 09-27-2013, 11:16 PM
LawnSite Member

Lawn business and taxes

I have a small lawn route, about 20 lawns a week. i do all my lawns with a helper on Saturday because i'm a full time student during the week. i pull in about 1700$ a month, pay my helper about 600$ a month, and have to pay about 150$ in expenses. how much of this do i need to report on taxes? can i keep it all under the table or is this dangerous? if i do report all of this for taxes, can i write off all my expenses if i have all the receipts? thanks for the help.
Old 09-27-2013, 11:28 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

You need to report it all for taxing purposes. The $1,700 is gross income, but you have many expenses that will offset most of this, leaving you with far less net income. All the items you listed are "expenses," but there may be many more you are unaware. This is why an Accountant who is skilled in tax law is of great help to you. He/She can explain what expenses are permitted, what is not permitted. Your tax burden is based upon the net income, so you want to find as many expenses as possible for minimum taxes. Yes, you need your receipts to justify expense in the event of audit.

Also, you will need to file Estimated payments. Again, the Accountant can help you through what minimum tax payments need to be made while the season is in progress. Your final tax calculation will be done after Jan 1, 2014, when you have all your income, all you expenses, and what you have already paid during the year. This is known as reconciliation -- that is matching your estimated taxes, against the actual taxes, and finding the difference (either added payments, or refund).