Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 10-03-2013, 06:26 PM
LawnSite Member

How to Layout your estimate

I seen and talked to people in the landscape business and they always have different methods of purposing the estimates. For an example one may have all materials listed like this:

Mulch $xxx
Landscape fabric $xxx
Labor $xxx
TOTAL $xxx

Or I have seen a few that just list a scope of work like this:

Scope of Work: Landscape Fabric to be pinned and placed in discussed landscape areas and a application of mulch.
TOTAL $xxx

I am new to the business and want to be professionally presentable. Any input helps and open to suggestions. Thanks in advance
Old 10-03-2013, 06:53 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

Well you can always submit it three times. Lol
Old 10-03-2013, 06:54 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

In all seriousness, your second example is how I submit estimates.
Old 10-03-2013, 07:09 PM
Sponsor

Just wondering why this thread has been listed 3 times on the first page of this site?.
easy-lift guy
Old 10-03-2013, 07:55 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

In my.experience customers don't care for a breakdown of costs they just want a price with everything
Stihl and Echo handhelds
Commercial Applicator Certified in 3A and 3B
Old 10-11-2013, 02:10 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

United,

We do a lot of proposals. Like 500-700 every year. I can tell you from a lot of experience doing these for a lot of years, customers like to see more detail. How do I know? Because we break down every proposal we give down to every material, every expense, line item for the labor, itemized for each different project etc. And we routinely get comments like, "Wow! This proposal is much more detailed than anything anyone else gave us. I can tell you guys really know your business." People appreciate the attention to detail. So that should be your first clue.