Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 11-02-2013, 10:20 AM
LawnSite Member

Full-Time Paramedic looking for PT advice

I work as a Paramedic (I'm also a police officer) near Houston, Tx and I make a good living but I'm ready to try something on my own. I'm not quitting my FT job, but because I only work about 8-10 days a month (24 hour shifts) I could work almost as much OT as I wanted, but after 11 years of EMS I'm ready to spend more time at home with the kids and be home at night.

I'm considering starting a lawncare business to do PT while my kids are in school or at their various activities during the day. I was wondering if any of my public safety brothers and sisters did lawn care on the side, and if so, what has your experience been? On average what can you bring home only doing it 2 days a week?

I've mowed on/off for a long time but I'd like to get "serious" about it this year.

I read this forum regularly and I appreciate any information from any of the experienced guys. Part time or Full time.
Old 11-02-2013, 11:59 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

You might actually do better working the OT shifts that you are able to. I worked did lawns for nearly 2 years part time, it did help pay for all the equiptment. Seriously if your just looking for a "dollar", which is in no way a bad thing I go with the OT at your job. I alaways say if Lawn Care is your "passion" then you can find a way to make a decient living, but if not you will have mowers for sale before long.
Old 11-02-2013, 12:08 PM
LawnSite Fanatic