Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 11-04-2013, 09:22 PM
LawnSite Member

Best stand on mower

I am interested in buying a new stand on mower, however I have zero experience with these machines. So I would like some help from you guys who have run them. I'm looking to get a 48 or 52 inch deck and I want the best machine for hills. My choices are scag vride, wright stander X, gravely pro stance, and exmark vantage. Which one of these mowers is the best overall machine and for a fair price? I already have a scag TT 61 so I like scag but I am open for opinions because I want the best machine with the best technology to make mowing easier. Any advice is appreciated!
Old 11-04-2013, 09:46 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

We have run wright and v ride.
I am biased toward scag in general.
I believe they give a better cut than wright.
JUST MY OPINION!
No one freak out.
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 11-05-2013, 07:14 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

All the standers are over priced. None of them will mow steep hills very well. With that being said they are very productive and less fatiguing to operate than sit downs and wbs. The best thing to do is to go out and look at the different brands. They all have there positives and negatives. I looked at many standers with the exception of the Wright. I found the toro/xmark to be the most agile and comfortable to operate. The gravely and scag were great units also just seemed a bit heavier and more cumbersome to run.
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 11-05-2013, 11:48 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawnkingforever View Post