Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 11-12-2013, 03:01 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Starting up part time in the spring -- what am I missing?

Starting part time while keeping my full time job next year with the hope of transitioning into this full time the year after. I make a little over $50k at my job and while some people think im crazy for trying to do this and leaving a cushy office job, as an insurance agent, i just want to get the hell out of the industry and work for myself. My plan is to eventually go part time here at my current job (2 days a week) and work landscaping the other 3 days a week plus weekends if needed. Hopefully Ill eventually get to the point of being able to leave here all together. I am very thorough and am a sales/business person at heart, so i know what it takes to make a company run efficiently.

Mainly I am trying to start off with no debt, but i may consider financing a ZTR after next summer if the 0% deals are still going on. Cant beat free money!

*Mower
Picked up a 36in WB last week.
Used MTDpro 400hrs, bagger, velke for $1300. Thing is in pretty much mint condition, never used by anyone other then the original owner for his home and a few neighbors (he was the neighborhood handy-man). This will be used as my primary mower for next season, but eventually I will be only used for backyards with gates and as a backup if I pick up a ZTR at some point hopefully after next summer.

*Blower & trimmers
Will be picking up quality blower, line and hedge trimmers over the winder. Still trying to figure out exactly what brands/models, but Im usually one for the 'buy once cry once' mentality. Still torn on dedicated equipment or using some type of combi system for the trimmers (I have another thread on that..)

*Trailer
My father-in-law said (owns an excavating co) has a trailer he said I can use to start which would obviously save me from having to buy one up front.

*Vehicle