Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 11-12-2013, 09:07 PM
LawnSite Gold Member

Design Discussion

Used to be you could just throw up a bunch of lights & everyone was happy but the industry is becoming more sophisticated & I am finding myself trying to put the same design principals into the holiday lighting that I do for my flower beds.

Problem is I have a lot of experience with flowers and colors in daylight but I'm definitely behind in the lighting arena. I would welcome a discussion on design thoughts. Specifically I'm concerned about too many clear lights washing out the darker solid colors like red & blue. Also how to create depth with lights to give the display more interest/texture.

I'm only putting up lights for my existing maintenance clientele but they are used to having the best gardening service so I don't want to disappoint with the lights.

“If I accept you as you are, I will make you worse; however, if I treat you as though you are what you are capable of becoming, I help you become that.”
Old 11-12-2013, 10:09 PM
Sponsor

Using LED lights will prevent any washing out of colors. The reds and blues and greens really pop vs incandescent.
Using pure white LED will make you white pop along with your colors.

But a great way to stand out over your competition and demand a better price point, is to be able to use your creativity.

One trick I'll share: Works well with smaller trees, say 10-15 feet tall:
trunk wrap and branch wrap as much as you can with a solid color LED (Red, or blue look the best) Then, get some clear incandescent C7's and place them in the canopy of the tree.

an easier one. Get a blue flood light and shine them into the trees as well as putting some warm white lights in the tree. You can get away with using less light strands this way and still have a pretty cool look that is cost effective to your client.
Old 11-12-2013, 11:53 PM
LawnSite Gold Member