Register free!

Old 11-16-2013, 10:34 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

What to stock

Kind of a weird question but oh we'll, I'm pretty new to irrigation and have done repair work here and their and a few installs. I have a enclosed trailer that I used to use for mowing but no longer do, and I want to set it up like proturf has his setup. My question is what supplies (pipe, fittings, wire, sprinkler heads, nozzles, valves, valve boxes. What stuff should I stock and how much of it. I try and stay with hunter products when possible uslay pro-sprays and i20s, I just want to know what I should buy,
so I can buy by the box or case so the price is cheaper and I don't have to drive 30 mins to the place that sells hunter stuff. Any input is great , thanks. Also the trailers 18 ft so I should have room to most everything.
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 11-16-2013, 02:25 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

You could almost fill a semi-tractor trailer with parts, and not cover everything. You have to ask yourself how much you're willing to bastardize a system that doesn't really deserve such treatment, in terms of what you are willing to be able to have exact replacements for. Depending on how many people need to access the parts, it is possible to greatly compact a service inventory into divider cases.

For spray heads, you should look beyond Hunter, since they don't cover all possibilities. A good service inventory has exact replacements for both Rainbird and Toro nozzles and bodies.
Old 11-16-2013, 02:27 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

my trucks carry heads, fittings, pipe, nozzles :
Heads-- only hunter- pgp, pro4-12, and a few 12" pgp
fittings-- 3/4"-2" in poly and pvc
nozzles- i use all A type nozzles, in radii 4-17 and the strips
standard tools and shovels, plus some odd ball stuff that may be site specific
Locator and electrical diagnostics and repair kit
hunter remote.