Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 12-28-2013, 11:26 PM
LawnSite Member

How do you calculate equipment costs

Hey guys, I'm new at this, so please, be gentle. I run a small landscape maintenance company, I do mowing, trimming, fertilizing and things like that. No hardscape of any king and minimal planting. The equipment in my small arsenal is basically a truck, a trailer, a zero turn mower, walk behind mower and small equipment such as trimmers and blowers. When I estimate a job, I estimate the number of hours that it'll take, and the materials I will need (fertilizers, pesticide, etc). Add my markup and voila, the customer has a price. I never include any cost for equipment use... Because I don't know how to do that!!! How do I know what it costs me to run my mower, or use the trailer per hour? I know how much gas I use, but that's about it. My equipment is in very good condition, so maintenance costs are minimal. Any advice?
Old 12-29-2013, 04:59 AM
LawnSite Member

How do you calculate equipment costs?

I was given a spreadsheet with a great breakdown. I do not remember from whom I received it. I can not attach a spreadsheet here so if you want I can email it to you.
Old 12-29-2013, 10:10 AM
LawnSite Member

Lighthouse..If you wouldn't mind sending me an attachment of your spreadsheet as well, I would appreciate it. I have relatively good estimating systems in place, yet would like to see if I am calculating properly. Thanks
tropicalgardenslandscape@yahoo.com
Old 12-29-2013, 10:18 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

here's the post from a while back where some guy posted a good spreadsheet. http://www.lawnsite.com/showpost.php...2&postcount=36
Old 12-29-2013, 10:19 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

dang, think that was the wrong one. there was one i got a while back from a thread.. it was really good. can't find it.
Old 12-29-2013, 12:01 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member