Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 01-11-2014, 08:33 PM
LawnSite Member

Fertilizer application

I'm new to the lawn business wondering if anyone could recommend when I should apply my first application of fertilizer my lawns are cool season and I'm in the transition zone (Long Island ,New York) if I'm right I have read I should wait til late spring and should not apply when I apply my first round of pre emergant for crabgrass and. Never use a weed and feed for my first app any help would be appreciated thank you and have a great year
Impulse
Old 01-12-2014, 05:14 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Fertilizer application

Chemlawn is out doing apps in February in PA,
But I normally don't start till mid late march and it's straight Fert for the first one then weed and feed
Old 01-12-2014, 08:21 AM
LawnSite Member

In nc we put ours out in early January (I guess we could wait till late January) and come back with pre emergent in early march. Transition zone as well here
Old 01-12-2014, 11:45 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

In the north, crabgrass control must be applied about when the first mowing takes place--or maybe when dandelions first bloom. Of course, if you have hundreds of applications to complete--you might need to start a bit early to be sure all are completed. Fertilizer--that is up to you--but you must obey local and state laws. And on sandy soil (you have that, right?), you should omit phosphorus and stay with a high proportion of slow-release nitrogen--say around 70 percent of nitrogen should be slow-release. If your customers demand organic, talk to Barry, and he will advise you relative to Screamin' Green, or if not, the best organic formula for your soil conditions.
Old 01-12-2014, 12:02 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Maybe if you would get a permit you would know. The learning is free, it's the test cost $ here in IA. Was the best $ I spent by a longshot as a new lawnguy.
Old 01-12-2014, 12:05 PM
LawnSite Senior Member