Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center



Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-13-2011, 06:08 PM
noone noone is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27
Echo PAS-265 - Best string trimmer attachment?

Looking at buying the Echo PAS-265. But which string trimmer attachment is the best, the Pro-Torque Trimmer Attachment, Trimmer Attachment or Rapid-Loader Trimmer Attachment?

Opinions?

http://www.echo-usa.com/Products/Pro-Attachment-Series
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-13-2011, 06:23 PM
noone noone is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27
I guess the real question is what is the difference in the Pro-Torque Trimmer attachment vs. the Trimmer Attachment, since the Rapid-Loader is a fixed string trimmer head.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-13-2011, 07:12 PM
Jimslawncareservice Jimslawncareservice is online now
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: mn
Posts: 3,967
I would imagine the pro would be heavier duty. I think that's what I have on my pas 265. Atleast that's what I paid for it. You don't want the rapid loader. It sucks reading that thing all day long. Plus you have to carry a pliers to get that crap string out. I got talked into getting that head on first trimmer from my echo dealer. My dad needed a trimmer and don't like loading the heads so I have home mine and bought another trimmer. A 230.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-14-2011, 12:04 AM
weve weve is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by noone View Post
I guess the real question is what is the difference in the Pro-Torque Trimmer attachment vs. the Trimmer Attachment, since the Rapid-Loader is a fixed string trimmer head.
The Pro-Torque Trimmer Attachment is geared lower than the standard trimmer attachment. I have both. With the Pro-Torque you need to run your engine at a higher rpm to get the same string speed. I put an Edgit on my Pro-Torque and like it because I can run longer string and not pull the engine down.
__________________
Dixie Chopper XWD3500-60 - Wright Stander X - Echo SRM 2100SB - Echo PAS-260
Echo PB-650T - Echo PB-770T - Echo HC-1500 - Shindaiwa T2500 - Shindaiwa PB270 - Shindaiwa PS344
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-30-2014, 03:30 AM
lawnandsnowguy lawnandsnowguy is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 46
i read a review that said the pro torque trimmer attachment spins counter clockwise anyone who uses one or any trimmer that runs in reverse direction can tell their experience...

I have pas-280 do i need pro torque?

Last edited by lawnandsnowguy; 05-30-2014 at 03:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-30-2014, 07:57 AM
southerntide's Avatar
southerntide southerntide is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,768
The Pro Torque is great needs more power best suited for 280 though can be used on 266

I just replaced SRM210 head with lower Rapid-Loader Trimmer Attachment, I used quick change head before this thing makes my time faster by 30% at least. They have a small one holds about 12 ft line the larger head holds upwards 20+feet

280 upper receiver is almost 11lbs alone not much to me but if not used to it will get used to it after a while
__________________

2014 JD 920M 7-Iron Pro 48" 23.5 hp Kawi
Echo - 210, 225
5x10 (upgrading winter)



All truth passes through three stages. First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as being self-evident.
Arthur Schopenhauer, (1788 – 1860)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-30-2014, 06:37 PM
lawnandsnowguy lawnandsnowguy is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by southerntide View Post
The Pro Torque is great needs more power best suited for 280 though can be used on 266

I just replaced SRM210 head with lower Rapid-Loader Trimmer Attachment, I used quick change head before this thing makes my time faster by 30% at least. They have a small one holds about 12 ft line the larger head holds upwards 20+feet

280 upper receiver is almost 11lbs alone not much to me but if not used to it will get used to it after a while
can you put any of the trimmer heads (echomatic, etc.) on the pas trimmer units?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-31-2014, 11:32 PM
Jimslawncareservice Jimslawncareservice is online now
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: mn
Posts: 3,967
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawnandsnowguy View Post
can you put any of the trimmer heads (echomatic, etc.) on the pas trimmer units?
I would think so. In have the echo speed feed on mine. It is exactly the same as my srm230
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.com™ - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:39 PM.

Page generated in 0.07303 seconds with 9 queries