Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 02-06-2014, 11:09 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

How many gallons per 1,000 with your spray rig?

I'm trying to get things calibrated so I can get the most done in a day without having to refill my spray tank. When I initially calibrated things, I had it spraying 7.5 gallons per 1,000 sq/ft but as I work the numbers, that just won't do. So I'm now working on getting my nozzle and pressure settings so that I can treat 1,000 sq/ft with about 3 gallons.

I'm curious to know if that's in line with the rest of you, if its a little high or a little low.

At 3 gal/1,000, I can treat 68k with one tank, which comes to roughly 13 properties at an average of 5,000 sq/ft of turf. I think that should put me at about mid-day needing to refill, which works OK. But I'm new to this so I could be way wrong...
Old 02-06-2014, 12:22 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Keep in mind your nozzle compliments your calibration. I usually set my gpm to where I want to be utilizing the regulator and calibrate without the nozzle. The nozzle comes into play after I have the flow rate established. With all that set you will have proper atomization of liquid without excessive recoil on the gun or over-spray.

The Arena, the Field of Battle, the site where the fight actually takes place is our own heart and all of our Inner Man. The time of Battle is our whole life.
Old 02-06-2014, 09:26 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

With my skids I try to get them to 1:1 ratio. New guys typically do good at 1.5-2 gal per k.
Old 02-06-2014, 09:44 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

The most important question is: are you adding fertilizer to your liquid mixture? If yes, you cannot get the solution highly concentrated, as it might burn the grass. Then 3 gals per thousand sqft is about right.