Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-11-2014, 11:36 AM
dieselss dieselss is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: highland in
Posts: 546
Prob cause you don't have a good gnd on the trk frame for the test light
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-11-2014, 01:51 PM
FLC2000 FLC2000 is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Shawnee Kansas
Posts: 1,742
OK. So I got the test light to work on the truck. Cleaned off a better spot. Hooked it up and the test light is going off on the blinkers and brake lights. I think I have ruled out a problem with the truck.

Stupid question but would the break away battery being dead have anything to do with the lights and brakes not working?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-11-2014, 02:09 PM
dieselss dieselss is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: highland in
Posts: 546
No. Break away has nothing to do with it. Ok so you cked pwr at the plug, but what about the trk supplied gnd to the plug? Gotta ck that too. On your trailer is everything gnded or do you just have the wire going to the frame?
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-11-2014, 02:10 PM
FLC2000 FLC2000 is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Shawnee Kansas
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by dieselss View Post
No. Break away has nothing to do with it. Ok so you cked pwr at the plug, but what about the trk supplied gnd to the plug? Gotta ck that too. On your trailer is everything gnded or do you just have the wire going to the frame?
Posted via Mobile Device
I think its just a wire going to the frame. I found a white wire with a metal circle on it attached to the frame of the trailer. It looks like the same setup as the ground to the truck.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-11-2014, 02:18 PM
dieselss dieselss is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: highland in
Posts: 546
Threres prob half your problem. Everything is grounding through the frame and its prob rusted and not making good connection. Should ground everything though its own ground wire
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-11-2014, 02:23 PM
FLC2000 FLC2000 is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Shawnee Kansas
Posts: 1,742
Would removing it, cleaning it up, and reattaching give a cleaner ground?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-11-2014, 02:36 PM
FLC2000 FLC2000 is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Shawnee Kansas
Posts: 1,742
I assume the white is the ground
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-11-2014, 02:58 PM
FLC2000 FLC2000 is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Shawnee Kansas
Posts: 1,742
Looks like Im going to have to replace it anyway. I went to unscrew it and the head busted off.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-11-2014, 03:03 PM
dieselss dieselss is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: highland in
Posts: 546
The proper way is to run a ground to every load just grounding it to the frame will eventually fail
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:31 PM.

Page generated in 0.09052 seconds with 8 queries