Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 03-16-2014, 07:30 PM
LawnSite Member

Newbie here. Is this a good deal?

Hi guys,

I am starting a lawn care company. At first it will be residential mowing. One of my many goals is to bid commercial contracts next year. This is a part time job now but will hopefully turn into a full blown operation in the years to come. I have a full time job and can fully support myself and family without tapping into the revenues that the business brings in, which allows me to reinvest in marketing. I have bought a 6x12 trailer and next is the equipment. I like to buy heavy duty commercial equipment. I am looking at the Exmark Lazer z 52 inch with the RED Kohler EFi engine. The offer is you get a free 30in commercial for "free". I am buying this on the 48 month 0% interest offer (rather use someone else's money). I also looked at Scag but the dealer is about 30 mins away and not in my initial service area. The Exmark dealer is about 10 miles away. Is this offer a good deal? I got a quote for a Turftiger and it was a few thousand less than the Lazer. Would you buy the Lazer and take the 30in commercial or the Turftiger and just buy a smaller commercial mower? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 03-16-2014, 07:49 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

I would step back and slow down. You don't have any contracts and are willing to take on a lot of debt. Get a used walk behind first. Some good hand tools and see how that goes. Prepare for the worst
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 03-16-2014, 07:54 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Two different decks for two different purposes.

Take a look at gravely as well
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 03-16-2014, 08:05 PM
LawnSite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReddensLawnCare View Post
I would step back and slow down. You don't have any contracts and are willing to take on a lot of debt. Get a used walk behind first. Some good hand tools and see how that goes. Prepare for the worst