Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 04-01-2014, 12:28 AM
LawnSite Member

What is the etiquette on filling spray tank with customer's water?

I've been spraying for a few years now and every once in a while I'll get in a bind for water for my spray tank. I only spray pesticides...no fertilizers.

I have a 25 gallon spray tank with a 12' boom mounted on a garden tractor.

I don't have a water tank in my pickup or trailer for additional water.

I usually just fill up as needed using the customers' garden hose.

Last week I ran into a situation where I sprayed four homes on a street. One of the homes was a vacation home and the water was cut off. One of the homes the customer was away on a cruise and the water was cut off. The other two homes had the homeowner's present.

I know one of the homeowners that was home well and actually play a lot of golf with him. He also knew the two homeowners with no water and didn't at all mind me using his water for those lawns.

They are all 1/2 acre to 1 acre lawns so I filled up the tank quite a few times.

It was all good but I left scratching my head that I might need to get at least a cheap 200 gallon tank to throw in the truck bed for situations like this in the future.

It probably wouldn't look very professional to someone I didn't know very well asking to fill up for someone else's lawn...or someone I did know well for that matter.

What does everyone else do?

Thank You,

Rod
Pamlico Lawn Care, LLC
Oriental, NC

Old 04-01-2014, 12:39 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

I also have a 25 gallon tank and don't really worry about refilling from a customer's faucet if needed. I usually mix the first tank before I hit the road, but I sometimes need to refill for larger properties. I equate this to someone having their house pressure washed and the company uses their faucet. It would be nice to have a 200 gallon tank for refills, but that is 1600 pounds of water to haul around!
Husqvarna 223L Trimmer
Husqvarna 326LS Trimmer