Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center



Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #31  
Old 04-29-2014, 06:25 PM
Brantley Brantley is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 65
Wanted to post an update on my progress. I have been waiting the 7 days before wet sanding and adding the clear coat. I also ordered all of my parts and should have this thing put back together and cutting in a couple weeks.

I will post pictures as I get it together.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 05-06-2014, 05:20 PM
Brantley Brantley is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 65
Thinking about adding an hour meter. All the parts stores say must be dealer installed. Is this correct? Will it plug directly into my wire harness (Scag sw48a-17ka 8080001)
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 05-06-2014, 06:36 PM
Breezmister's Avatar
Breezmister Breezmister is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brantley View Post
Thinking about adding an hour meter. All the parts stores say must be dealer installed. Is this correct? Will it plug directly into my wire harness (Scag sw48a-17ka 8080001)
These are what I use....Just wrap the wire around the plug wire.

http://www.amazon.com/Sendec-Hour-Me.../dp/B007IP5FIM
__________________
.
Masters Degree in Thinking Out Side Of The Box,Graduate of the MacGyver Institute of Ingenuity

The primary function of an Engineer is to make it difficult for the Fabricator and impossible for the Mechanic

RTFM What a concept

Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 05-07-2014, 11:06 PM
mattymax mattymax is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 69
I like the scag hour meter. Plugs right into the stock harness and looks like it belongs on the panel since there is a cut out for it. Not sure if your using a newer style console with that.

Matt
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 05-07-2014, 11:41 PM
Brantley Brantley is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 65
After consulting with a scag dealer and parts house I bought the oem one today. My wiring harness still has the protectors in the connectors that go to the hour meter.

On another note, I have everything painted and clearcoated. I put the decals on yesterday and this weekend everything is going together hoping to cut my yard Saturday evening.

I will post pictures when complete
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 05-10-2014, 08:11 PM
Brantley Brantley is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 65
Well I fell a few small parts short and the old choke and throttle cables aren't the right length; therefore, I didn't get to cut today.

Here are a few pictures. The grey stuff smudged everywhere is anti seize. Yes, I am going to clean the overspray paint off the front caster wheels.

Questions:

How do you set the belt height so everything is in line?
Attached Images
   
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 05-10-2014, 10:51 PM
ed2hess's Avatar
ed2hess ed2hess is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Austin Texas 78727
Posts: 11,780
You move the pulleys up down on spindle shaft....
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 05-10-2014, 11:16 PM
Brantley Brantley is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 65
And the tighten down the taper pulley middle with the two screw? Do you measure the belt to make sure it is at the same height or is there another way to ensure that are exactly in line?
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 05-11-2014, 06:58 PM
ed2hess's Avatar
ed2hess ed2hess is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Austin Texas 78727
Posts: 11,780
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brantley View Post
And the tighten down the taper pulley middle with the two screw? Do you measure the belt to make sure it is at the same height or is there another way to ensure that are exactly in line?
Posted via Mobile Device
Measuring it is fine.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 06-05-2014, 09:45 PM
Brantley Brantley is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 65
Well I got everything together, gas in the tank, oil in the engine. The only problem is I can't get the kawasaki FS481V to start. I have the throttle on choke and the choke knob pulled. I have gotten it to start three time for a second but then it dies. I am so frustrated.

Any ideas on what I am doing wrong?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:52 AM.

Page generated in 0.07037 seconds with 8 queries