Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-16-2014, 07:11 PM
PamlicoLawnCare's Avatar
PamlicoLawnCare PamlicoLawnCare is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oriental, NC
Posts: 65
subscribed...
__________________
Rod J
Pamlico Lawn Care, LLC
Oriental, NC

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-25-2014, 09:48 PM
jbturf jbturf is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: groton, MA
Posts: 1,300
Well i finally recieved the gps unit, it wont work , it does not register speeds below 7 mph bummer, returning it

guess il try the bicycle one next
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-25-2014, 10:18 PM
ted putnam's Avatar
ted putnam ted putnam is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 4,138
Garmin Forerunner 101. Amazon.com $114.90 + $4.99 shipping... If you turn it on/off with every use I'm sure the batteries would last longer.



It WILL work for you
__________________
"The Poor Fish" circa 1930's: The Poor Fish wouldn't have been caught if he'd known enough to keep his fool mouth shut.

Last edited by ted putnam; 04-25-2014 at 10:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-25-2014, 10:53 PM
americanlawn's Avatar
americanlawn americanlawn is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: midwest
Posts: 5,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbturf View Post
What do u guys recommend for a speedo to put on sprayer? I'm mostly finding iPhone apps when I google. What does zspray use? I remember the jr I had , came with a watch sized speed unit seemed pretty good
Posted via Mobile Device
Relying on a speedometer for a stand-on spreader/sprayer is ridiculous. Many reasons. Anybody else??
__________________
Proud subscriber of TURF Magazine. (thanks Ron)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-25-2014, 11:09 PM
ted putnam's Avatar
ted putnam ted putnam is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 4,138
How is knowing your ground speed when applying pesticides "ridiculous"? (No matter what piece of equipment you are using to make applications with)

I'm all ears...
__________________
"The Poor Fish" circa 1930's: The Poor Fish wouldn't have been caught if he'd known enough to keep his fool mouth shut.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-25-2014, 11:34 PM
kbrashears's Avatar
kbrashears kbrashears is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Central Arkansas
Posts: 674
What's ridiculous about it? I think its ridiculous to NOT know.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-26-2014, 02:02 AM
greendoctor greendoctor is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 7,377
A good speedometer makes boom applications less stressful. Especially if that speedometer is linked to an auto rate controller.
__________________
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
Benjamin Franklin 1775

Sell not virtue to purchase wealth, nor Liberty to purchase power.
Benjamin Franklin Poor Richard's Almanac1738
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-26-2014, 07:29 AM
jbturf jbturf is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: groton, MA
Posts: 1,300
Thanks ted il search that one again, larry i guess i just like too know that im spraying the correct amount of product. ..
Perhaps thats not important for you.
Anyways,
My sprayer is hydro drive and as you all know when you set your speedlock or bar the machine will vary speed on different terrain. Theres a good reason zspray includes this on their machine, it is important.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-26-2014, 08:31 AM
nighthawk117 nighthawk117 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 263
Josh, I've still got the garmin 101 on my Z and it works great ! Set my rpms and I'm off. I just keep a few batteries in my trailer, never a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-26-2014, 09:11 AM
jbturf jbturf is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: groton, MA
Posts: 1,300
thanks for the info,

can you see the speed on the screen ok while your moving along?
and is there a dedicated screen mode for speed? or is it in only displayed in the lower corner?

this look like it will work fine, i was searching the forerunner 110 before --didnt like that one

the mitsugawa one i just returned would have been perfect, it only displayed speed with a decimal point,
the numbers were about and inch tall and bright red- very easy to see--oh well
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:58 AM.

Page generated in 0.08801 seconds with 7 queries