Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 04-22-2014, 09:54 PM
LawnSite Member

How many lawns to make a living?

Ok so here is my idea. I am starting a small lawn business at the moment, and I think its a good time to start getting a couple customers and grow over the years. I am a freshman and high school and was wondering around how many lawns would I need a week to make a decent living. (around 50k) I was thinking if I could start getting jobs in high school that would make a better way to get into the business and wouldn't have to worry about making ends meet.
Old 04-22-2014, 10:40 PM
LawnSite Member

walkerway

You think mowing grass is easy money don't ya, think again. Cranky customers, long hot days, breakdowns, rising fuel costs, and everyone else that wants to start a lawn care business low balling it and ruining it for the professionals.
Old 04-22-2014, 10:48 PM
LawnSite Member

I started working for another lawn company when I was 14, started driving the trucks and ztrs when I was 16.

Now I am 21, and in my 3rd year of college and I am just now starting a business.

I would work with another company for a couple of years before going out on my own, helps you learn the tips and tricks to make sure you do a safe, quality job everytime.

Even working for another company, I was making $12/hr, and always had waaay more money than my other friends who were getting $9/hr at whatever crappy restaurant they worked at.

It aint that bad being able to be the kid in highschool with a truck, 2 motorcycles and a boat.
Old 04-22-2014, 10:57 PM
LawnSite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by craftsmanracer View Post
I started working for another lawn company when I was 14, started driving the trucks and ztrs when I was 16.

Now I am 21, and in my 3rd year of college and I am just now starting a business.