Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 04-24-2014, 08:20 AM
LawnSite Member

Would you go full time lawn care if...

Hello everyone. I am new to posting but I have been following threads for months now.

My situation is this. I have always enjoyed the outdoors, getting dirty, cleaning up a yard here and there for the satisfaction, got a minor in business management, maintain the church lawn every week, mow an old lady's lawn to help out, and I maintain a vegetable garden every year. In the past I owned an LLC for power washing while in the Marine Corps, but did not do much with it due to frequent deployments. But, I learned a lot on the legal side between the LLC and school.

Next, I got into a job I do not enjoy. I have been here 2 years doing electrical engineering by trade. I did not go to school for it, but I learned a lot of the skills from my aeronautical degree, and the work place gave me shot. I took the job because it payed the bills better than working at the gas station.

I was doing all kinds of side projects for other people, burning myself out. Then I realized I wanted to work for myself when the situation at my electrical engineering job got crazy. The work place is horrible. The owner of the company made bad decisions, people are always bitter, pay was low.

So, I was talking to a guy from church who has been part of a landscaping crew for a few years. We thought maybe we should give it a shot doing something together. He is under payed and would devote time on Saturdays and teach me tricks of the trade. He knows some hard scape stuff too. I created an LLC, got insured.

Then a weird turn happened. I got a big raise at work and now make 50k before taxes. Me and the other guy have just begun working on one lawn last week, big job, but we are doing parts every weekend.