Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 04-28-2014, 11:09 PM
LawnSite Gold Member

Did You Know This About Stihl Trimmers

I just found out Sthil clutches has a life time warranty
My 2 FS130 needed new clutches they will be year old come May 25th
Which the trimmers are still under warranty but the dealer told me the clutches have Life Time Warranty.
Old 04-28-2014, 11:51 PM
LawnSite Gold Member

No I did not know that but then again it all depends on who your dealer is, or should I say, who is going to honor that so-called warranty...
I mean where do I take my clutch to, somehow I don't think my dealer is going to honor it...
The real problem I see however is that clutches are going to wear out, regardless.

I guess I could try Southern States but then I'm still not sure, see...
As a business owner I understand when it costs the store money, ultimately we all end up paying for it.
So whether I should get free ones or just pay for it upfront, it all ends up about the same in the end.
It's the same thing with brake shoes, it kills me, they offer a lifetime warranty on merchandise that wears out by design.
Something just doesn't sound right but if your dealer is willing to give you new clutches for your old ones, by all means, I'd go for it.

Last edited by herler; 04-28-2014 at 11:55 PM.
Old 04-28-2014, 11:58 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

As long as you are the original owner. They used to do ignitions on saws too. Must be original owner.
Old 04-29-2014, 03:00 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snyder's Lawn Inc View Post
Which the trimmers are still under warranty but the dealer told me the clutches have Life Time Warranty.
They do that because the clutches rarely ever wear out with normal use. No guards - no warranty. Springs are not covered. Clutch shoes only.
Old 04-29-2014, 06:22 PM
LawnSite Gold Member