Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 03-22-2003, 08:42 AM
LawnSite Member

Expanding the Company

Hi.
This is my first time on any forum. I was wondering if anyone would like to share their story or advice on growing their company. My wife and I run a Mom and Pop operation of about 90 clients. We would like to expand, i.e. hire help and start a second crew, but don't know when to "cross that bridge". Is it worth the trouble?(from and experienced point of view).
We live in the south (zone 9&10) where lawn mowing business nearly stops in Jan. and Feb.
Any advice will be appreciated. Thanks in advance,
LA LAWNS
Old 03-22-2003, 09:51 AM
LawnSite Silver Member

LA Lawns:

I wouldn't consider 90 accounts a small mom and pop biz. I'm a solo op with only 30 accounts. I too am looking to expand and possibly hire some help, add mowers, crews etc. If you don't mind, share with me how you came about getting those 90 accounts and how long you've been doing it. I understand your wife helps you. Does she mow with you or does she take care of the paper work and bill paying? Thanks
Old 03-22-2003, 10:01 AM
LawnSite Member

helping out

Ive come to find word of mouth is the best way to expand your buisness. i started out in a back of a explorer w/10 acc.
while working for another company and doing this on wknds.
slowly i pass out flyers started talking to gas stations churches small buiss.taking little by little. mind you only cutting w/push mower. without using any credit so i dont screw myself, in the last three years i went from 10 to 155 buying used equip. and slowly building myself up now i just started a second crew and a garden crew,and now starting to bid on condos. i find it takes time to build and you just have to be ready to take that next step. good luck i hope this help you in some small way . just keep cutting
Lawn Care America
Old 03-22-2003, 04:25 PM
LawnSite Member

Plan your Attack