Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 03-22-2003, 01:47 PM
LawnSite Member

Help....

I have an account that has had Lawnmaster spray for two years to get their lawn back from weeds. This is my first year doing her lawn and it's in fairly good shape. She wants to not spray any more chemicals than she has too. My answer for her was that we would mow properly, higher and more often as needed, and fertilze (after a soil test) to keep a healthy lawn, and see how it goes with the weeds. Am I on the right track? I am almost ready for the pesticide test, and only want to fertilize as I believe in using the least amount of chemicals. Can you really keep ahead of most weeds by just keeping the lawn healthy?
Old 03-22-2003, 02:24 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

harpoonalt

I am in warm season turf therefore I might tell you wrong. A health turf is the best weed prevention there is. Yes I think you can keep weeds out. You can watch the lawn closely because you cut it regular. Spot treat or have it spot treated if you have a out break of weeds.

However what about insects in your area?? Jap beetles etc??

"TG doesn't give a rats ass about being "Responsible" as long as sales/production quotas are met. That's it in a nutshell. A recipe for disaster IMO." Ted Putnam 2/28/14

You can lead a Donkey to water but you can't make the Jackass Drink

"As Americans you have the right to be stupid." John Kerry

"Life is tough, but it's tougher when you're stupid.” John Wayne.
Old 03-22-2003, 10:50 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Location: central virgina, transition, plant hardy zone 7a, and heat index zone 7
Follow ric advice, and dodn't omit SOIL TEST!!!!!!!!!!1
Primarly work with cool season turf
Old 03-23-2003, 09:25 AM
LawnSite Member