Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 05-31-2014, 10:01 AM
LawnSite Member

Pricing on fertilizer?

So, I got my first fertilizer job. Already have a spreader. I'm just unsure how to go about pricing the job. Anyone got any advice for the formula of pricing a fert job?
Old 05-31-2014, 01:52 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Try to keep it simple. Take the price of what you will be applying and find your cost per 1k sq.ft. of coverage. Then take into account the time it takes you to put down said product and apply that to what you want to make per hour. Add it all up. I'm still fairly new at this as well, so I'll defer to others that may have a set formula for you. But it should always be your materials cost plus desired profit per whatever measurement you want to use. I think a lot of applicators have a minimum charge for up to a certain square footage. Like 5k or 10k sq. ft. Then a certain price per every unit of measurement after that.
Old 05-31-2014, 01:55 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Do you already know your material costs? ( $Per 1000 or acre) And the rate you want to apply it at?

You may want to experiment on your yard to figure out how long it takes with your spreader to treat xxxx sqft. Then you can estimate how long it takes to do a yard. Take that multiply by your hourly wage and add in your material cost and you're almost there. Add in for insurance and biz profit etc.
Old 05-31-2014, 07:56 PM
LawnSite Member

Well, sadly I don't know anywhere that offers good prices on one or two bags. Also, I'm so confused on what type of fertilizer to even use. I took a look at home Depot and their is just so many options. The way I see it though, bag cost $15 and I'd like to turn that into a $35 job. I don't think her yard will need two bags, but I figure depending on the price charge maybe a base fee of $10 then like $5 per 1,000sqft?