Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 03-23-2003, 05:10 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

At a crossroad in my business...

I posted this same subject awhile back but need to make a decision. I like mowing, line trim and edging, (basic lawn care), but dislike full service accounts. The shrub trimming, raking, hauling & dumping clippings, weed control, etc. I like to get in and get out and keep moving. I'm a solo operator. I have several options.

1. Hire an employee either outright or thru an employment agency which would cover the work comp. & liability issues. Either way, there is always the problem of employee turnover after the investment of time to train them on their work requirements.

2. Sub-contract work I don't want to do.

3. Slowly weed out full service accts. and gradually replace them with basic lawn care.

My longer term goal is to run a crew or multiple crews. Handling the daily operations, maintenance of equip, quality control,(making sure equip. isn't abused-torn up), adding customers, billing, P.R., etc.

First things first. I had a previous business where I had several employees. Big headache but the monetary rewards made it worth it. I got into this LCO to simplify my life, make a decent living and have as few hassles as possible. Now I'm about to go a different direction it seems. Any advice or opinions about any of the above would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Old 03-23-2003, 05:38 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Bassman,

I would think that most (myself included) would want the opposite. I prefer the full service accounts as they generally care more about their properties than mow & blow only. Sure there are some who enjoy the mulching, pruning, etc.. and just don't have the time to do the weekly thing.

Some points to consider:
1. What do you do in a drought and lawns go to 2 week or less schedule?
2. How many weeks a year or cuts per year can you do?