Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 07-02-2014, 02:11 PM
LawnSite Member

Seed

i am new to the landscaping business and i have a question about seeding. i seeded a customers lawn about a month ago. he called me a few days ago and said no grass has grown at all. i used the same seed at 4 other houses including my own and grass has grown perfectly at all of them. he claims to be watering it good. is this something i should be fixing for him for free or do i still charge?
Old 07-02-2014, 06:33 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Is there grass? Have a look at it. If it is a fescue mix and not being watered enough, it will go dormant or not grow much. New turf and soil does not have enough roots to hold enouge moisture to sustain it through hot weather; therefore needing more water often during the day. Shoot some photos and post them with several close up. Check your wording on the work preformed word by word if clients are cold and prickley. Protect yourself and answer objections before they arise is the 1st law of business.
Old 07-02-2014, 07:48 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Sure. Do it again for free. Consider it a cheap education.
Customers almost always lie when they said they watered "...more than anybody else in my whole neighborhood!"
Do not guarantee anything about seeding.
Always spot check the site and take a soil sample in a sealed jar with photos and dates. In the event of problems you can have the percentage of moisture determined by a laboratory. Let him argue with the scientific laboratory.
Always read his water meter and request a copy of his water bill. You can calculate how many gallons of water he used. You can find if he applied an inch a week--naturally you have to subtract an average winter bill to account for the showers and toilet flushing normally used. The city may be willing to show you his records. Or you may be able to find the water usage records online for the property involved.